What is Argentina’s record in the FIFA World Cup finals? [Updated 2023]

Argentina is a country with a rich footballing history, having won the FIFA World Cup on two occasions. However, they have also been runners-up on three occasions, and have failed to make it past the quarter-finals stage in the last two editions of the tournament. In this blog post, we will take a look at Argentina’s record in FIFA World Cup finals, and see what their chances are of winning the trophy again in the future.

Argentina’s World Cup History

Argentina has a long and storied history in the FIFA World Cup, having competed in 18 finals tournaments. They have won the tournament twice, in 1978 and 1986, and have been runners-up on four occasions.

The Argentine national team first qualified for the World Cup in 1930, but were eliminated in the first round. They reached the semifinals in 1934, but lost to eventual champions Italy. After missing out on qualification for the 1938 tournament, Argentina returned to the World Cup in 1950 and reached the final, where they were beaten by Uruguay.

Argentina did not qualify for the 1954 or 1958 tournaments, but bounced back by winning the 1962 edition, held in Chile. This remains their only triumph outside of Argentina. The 1966 tournament saw them reach the quarterfinals, before being knocked out by England.

1970 was another disappointing World Cup for Argentina, as they failed to progress beyond the first round. However, they reached new heights at the 1974 tournament, hosted by West Germany. Led by captain Daniel Passarella, Argentina made it all the way to the final before losing to Holland in a controversial match that saw two Dutchmen sent off.

After missing out on qualification for both 1978 and 1982 due to military dictatorship at home, Argentina finally returned to the World Cup stage in 1986. Hosted on home soil, Diego Maradona inspired his countrymen to victory with some brilliant individual play en route to a 3-2 win over West Germany in the

Argentina’s Record in FIFA World Cup Finals

In FIFA World Cup finals, Argentina has a record of 13 wins, 14 losses, and 2 draws.

Argentina’s Current FIFA World Ranking

Argentina’s current FIFA world ranking is 14. The team’s last world ranking was 4 in 2014.

The highest FIFA world ranking Argentina has ever achieved is 1, which it reached in November 1993 and again in April 2010.

Argentina has participated in eighteen FIFA World Cups, including the inaugural edition in 1930. The team has reached the final on five occasions: in 1930 (losing to Uruguay), 1978 (losing to Netherlands), 1986 (defeating West Germany), 1990 (losing to West Germany) and 2014 (losing to Germany).

What is Lionel Messi’s Role on the Argentine National Team?

Lionel Messi is an Argentine professional footballer who plays as a forward for Spanish club Barcelona and the Argentina national team. He is often considered the best player in the world and regarded by many as one of the greatest players of all time.

Messi has won a record six Ballon d’Or awards and a joint-record three European Golden Shoes. He has spent his entire professional career with Barcelona, where he has won 32 trophies, including ten La Liga titles, four UEFA Champions League titles, and six Copas del Rey. A prolific goalscorer, Messi holds several records, including most goals scored in La Liga (438), a La Liga and European record most hat-tricks (36), most assists in La Liga (188) and the Copa América (12), as well as most goals scored in a calendar year (91). He also has the most goals in El Clásico matches (26).


He has scoring records in the FIFA World Cup (six), Copa América (10) and UEFA Champions League (73). Messi is the only football player in history to win five FIFA Ballons d’Or, four of which he won consecutively. With Barcelona he has also won eight Spanish Cups, seven Spanish Super Cups, three UEFA Champions Leagues, two Club World Cups, and an unprecedented treble of La Liga-Champions League-Copa del Rey in 2009. The following year he led Barcelona to


Argentina has reached the FIFA World Cup final four times, but has only won the title once. The nation’s best performance came in 1986 when they defeated West Germany 3-2 in the final. Argentina also finished as runners-up in 1990, 2014 and 2015.


With the help of Sportslive.to you can watch Who will win the FIFA Qatar World Cup 2022.

Download SportsLive.to App and enjoy the trending live sports streams.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *